• See below for award descriptions and criteria

A. Duane Lund Chamber Member of the Year:

This Chamber Member of the Year Award is named in memory of A. Duane Lund, a highly regarded local attorney who served as President of the Washington State Trial Lawyers Association.  Duane epitomized Chamber involvement and commitment to his community.  He served on the Board of Directors and was Board President in 1993, and it is said that the older he got, the more he realized he could give to the community.

The award honors a Chamber member who has performed special service over an extended period of time. It is presented to a member who has contributed significantly above and beyond what is normally called for in connection with Chamber volunteer service. The nominee’s commitment of resources, including time, talent, and/or finances, to the advancement of the Chamber and business, should be exemplary.

This person should exhibit the character traits and skills of a leader and promote the principles of professional idealism, fostering goodwill and loyalty toward the Chamber.

Anyone who has been a Chamber member for two or more years is a member in good standing and meets the criteria is eligible. This award is presented to the Chamber member who has displayed outstanding contributions to the Chamber in the past year.

Anne J. Owen Community Service Award:

This award is named in memory of Anne J. Owen, a past Board member, and outstanding community member. Anne was a tireless organizer and resolute worker for Custom Industries. She served on the Board of the Kirkland Arts Center for 10 years overseeing the preservation and maintenance of the building that has become a local landmark and home of the Kirkland Arts Center, the Peter Kirk Building. She was also synonymous with the Parkplace Festival. The award honors a Chamber member who, like its namesake, performs special community service over an extended period of time and whose ongoing volunteer efforts have made a significant impact on Kirkland and perhaps beyond. It is presented to a member who has contributed significantly above and beyond what is normally called for in connection with community service. This person should exhibit a leader’s character traits and skills, fostering goodwill and loyalty to the Chamber. Anyone who has been a Chamber member for two or more years is a member in good standing and meets the criteria is eligible.


Activity in the community, including and beyond the Chamber – generally more than one activity venue.
Sustained involvement.
Respect and visibility in the Community.

Charles O. Morgan Business Excellence Award:

A few years ago, we lost our good friend Chuck Morgan. He was one of Kirkland’s patriarchs, having served as the Chamber’s Board Chair in 1953 and 1965. Chuck’s professional background was in journalism. He was the long-time publisher of what became the Eastside Journal, the first newspaper on the Eastside. With many of us, he helped with the founding of the Kirkland Performance Center, Evergreen Hospital, and Cascadia Community College. There is very little about the Eastside that Chuck has not played a significant role in. He is often called “Mr. Kirkland.”

Created in 2001 and replacing the previous three Business Excellence Awards (Excellence in Growth; Deep Rooted Excellence, and Blooming Excellence), the Charles O. Morgan Business Excellence award is presented by the Peter Kirk Club to the Kirkland Business that reflects the following criteria:


Business Citizenship
Broad involvement.
Has given back to the community over time.
Takes Care or has taken care of employees.
Proven Leadership
Personal accomplishments.
Accomplishments in industry.
Accomplishments in community.
Quality of Life
Contributes to the community.
Contributes to business.

William C. Woods Above & Beyond Award:

The William C. Woods Above and Beyond Award is named in honor of Bill Woods, a long-time Kirkland community leader. Bill is known for his quiet, unassuming, and dignified manner. He has demonstrated his long-time love and commitment toward the community through his generosity of time.

Bill Woods was board president of the Kirkland Chamber of Commerce twice and was instrumental in developing the Kirkland Downtown Association. He also served as president of the Kirkland Jaycees, Kirkland Rotary Club, and the Washington State Pharmacy Association. He has been the consummate volunteer for various community organizations and made his mark with his involvement in the creation of the Kirkland Performance Center and was a vital member of the Kirkland City Council and served the city as mayor from 1966-1974.

Merrily Dicks Community Arts & Culture Award:

Merrily Dicks is and has always been the embodiment of what it means to be an advocate for the arts, culture, and heritage in our community. She has worked tirelessly to promote art in many forms for community members of all ages. Her involvement in the formation of the Creative Arts League (now called Kirkland Arts Center), the Heritage Society, Summerfest, and the Kirkland Cultural Arts Commission has helped to make Kirkland the thriving, the beautifully scenic city we all love. Merrily Dicks is a vital part of Kirkland’s arts community, and we are honored to name this Arts Award after her and to recognize those in the community who share in Merrily’s creative drive and vision.


Cultivates a personal responsibility for community intellectual growth
Contributes in positive ways to the community
Engages with the community and demonstrates a strong sense of purpose
Demonstrates outstanding achievement as an artistic leader
Leads others towards excellence in the performing, visual or literary arts
Contributed investment is considered to be ongoing, long-term, and committed

Share This